Show Menu


MEDFASH’s trustees are responsible for ensuring the sound governance of the charity.

Their role is unpaid and we are fortunate to draw on their high level expertise from a range of backgrounds to guide our work.

After five years in office, Dr Sheila Adam stood down as Chair of MEDFASH in 2013.  We are immeasurably grateful to her for steering the charity safely through changing times and providing sound leadership to the Board, consistent support to the staff and inspiration to us all.  

We are delighted to welcome Cathy Hamlyn as our new Chair.  A member of the MEDFASH Board since early 2012, Cathy brings a wealth of skills and experience from senior roles in the Department of Health and the NHS, as well as a longstanding commitment to sexual health.

To support the Chair, we have created a new post of Vice Chair, to which we welcome Dr Angela Robinson.  A Board member since 2006, Angela has extensive clinical and educational experience, and has filled a range of honorary senior posts in the medical profession both nationally and internationally. 

See below for more information about Cathy Hamlyn, Angela Robinson and other MEDFASH Trustees.

Cathy Hamlyn

Cathy Hamlyn - Chair

Cathy is a Non Executive Director of a NHS Trust in London and was previously a senior civil servant in the Department of Health, where she was Director of National Support Teams for over five years and a Director of (Public Health) Policy for six years. She joined the Department of Health in 1999 as the first head of the cross-Government Teenage Pregnancy Unit and subsequently also became Head of Sexual Health, responsible for the implementation of the National Sexual Health and HIV Strategy. Cathy previously worked in the NHS for 24 years, the last ten as Chief Executive of three different health authorities. Cathy was awarded a Fellowship of the Faculty of the Public Health in June 2003.

Angela Robinson

Dr Angela Robinson MB DSRH FRCP - Vice Chair

Angela was appointed consultant in GU Medicine at University College Hospital, London, in 1989. She currently works at the Mortimer Market clinic, one of the largest providers of sexual health services in the UK. She works part time in HIV and sexual health. She was the inaugural President of British Association for Sexual Health and HIV 2003-6 following the merger of two professional organisations. She has chaired the BMA Dematovenerology committee, the Young adult and adolescent health steering group at Royal College of Physicians and more recently the Statutes and Development Committee of the European Academy of Dermatovenereology. She is manpower officer for the specialty, a joint RCP and BASHH role.

Peter Ashman

Peter Ashman

As Publishing Director of the BMJ since 2007, Peter encourages the Journals publishing division to focus on optimal processes, efficiencies and services to all our clients, partners and authors.  Prior to the BMJ, Peter worked for Nature for six years, conceiving and launching its medical journals division. From 2015, Peter becomes Chair of Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers - the largest international association for scholarly and professional publishers.

Shree Datta

Shree Datta BSc (Hons) MBBS MRCOG LLM

Shree Datta is a Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist at King's College Hospital. Her clinical specialist interest is benign gynaecology and cervical screening. She has a keen interest in medical education and currently jointly leads undergraduate Reproductive and Sexual Health teaching at King's College London.

Brian Gazzard

Professor Brian Gazzard CBE

Brian Gazzard started the HIV unit at the Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London, and is now its Clinical Research Director. This is one of the largest clinical units in Europe concentrating its research mainly on new algorithms of care, immunological and oncological manifestations of HIV disease and antiretroviral therapy. Brian qualified at Cambridge University and was awarded his MD from there in 1983. He was awarded the Department of Health prize for distinguished achievement in 2002 and is the chairman of the Chief Medical Officer's Expert Advisory Group on AIDS.

Brian Gazzard

Dr Charlotte Jones MBBs (Lond) MRCGP and DFSRH

Dr Charlotte Jones has been a GP in Swansea as part of a 6 partner practice for 12 years. She is a trainer, medical student tutor, GP appraiser and former manager of a successful Out Of Hours Service providing clinical care in a variety of settings. Dr Jones has been a member of Morgannwg LMC (2002 -), GPC Wales (2005 -) and took over as chair of GPC Wales in July 2013. In addition, Dr Jones is part of the GPC UK negotiating team which has, amongst its other roles, statutory responsibility for negotiating terms and conditions of service relating to the GMS contract. Dr Jones sits on a range of committees at Welsh and UK level covering a wide portfolio of briefs including unscheduled care, indemnity, education, workforce and vaccinations / immunisations. Outside of work, Dr Jones is a mother to two teenagers and a Cavalier King Charles spaniel who considers herself as the third child in the family...

George Kinghorn

Professor George Kinghorn OBE MD FRCP (London & Glasgow)

George was appointed lead GUM consultant physician in Sheffield in 1979 and held this post until his partial retirement in 2010. He has previously served on committees at the Department of Health, BMA, Royal College of Physicians, and British Association for Sexual Health & HIV and was the specialty President from 1999-2001. He was the Clinical Director for the Communicable Diseases directorate in Sheffield Teaching Hospitals from 1981-2011 and for the South Yorkshire NIHR Comprehensive Local Clinical Research Network from 2011-2014.

Surendra Kumar


Surendra has been a GP Principal since 1971 after having started his general practice career in Ebbw Vale & Tradegar, the old constituency of Aneuran (‘Nye’) Bevan, the chief architect of the National Health Service. Now based in Cheshire, Surendra became interested in medical politics in the late 1980s and served as General Secretary, National Chairman and National President of the British International Doctors’ Association (formerly Overseas Doctors’ Association, ODA) between 2003 and 2009. He has been a member of the BMA’s  GP Committee since 1993 and has also served on several other BMA committees over the last two decades, including the Medical Ethics Committee and Annual Representatives Agenda Committee. Surendra has been a Trustee of MEDFASH since 2010.